The Stations of The Cross


Stations of the Cross (or Way of the Cross; in Latin, Via Crucis; also called the Via Dolorosa or Way of Sorrows) refers to the depiction of the final hours or Passion of Jesus, and the devotion commemorating the Passion. It may be done at any time, but is most commonly done during the Season of Lent, especially on Good Friday and on Friday evenings during Lent.

I. Jesus Is Condemned to Death
II. Jesus Is Made to Carry His Cross
III. Jesus Falls the First Time
IV. Jesus Meets His Blessed Mother
V. Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus His Cross
VI. Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus
VII. Jesus Falls the Second Time
VIII. Jesus Speaks to the Women
IX. Jesus Falls the Third Time
X. Jesus Is Stripped of His Garments
XI. Jesus Is Nailed to the Cross
XII. Jesus Dies on the Cross
XIII. Jesus Is Taken Down from the Cross
XIV. Jesus Is Laid in the Tomb

Via Crucis